2017 IEEE Communication Theory Workshop
June 11-14, 2017 – Natadola Bay, Fiji


Sunday June 11, 2017

06:30 pm                 Cocktail Reception

Monday June 12, 2017

Keynote 1

08:30 am                  Reinaldo Valenzuela (Nokia-Bell Labs)

Session 1.  Communication-theoretic aspects of big data infrastructure 

Chair: Salman Avestimehr

09:20 am                  Babak Hassibi

                                      Kannan Ramchandran

10:30 am                 Coffee break

11:00 am                 Gauri Joshi

                                     Salman Avestimehr

12:10 pm                 Lunch

Session 2.   Machine Learning for future communications networks

Chair: David Gesbert

03:15 pm                 Robert Heath Jr

                                      Michele Zorzi

                                      David Gesbert

05:00 pm                 Coffee break

Panel Session 1.  “What will IoT be? Is unlicensed wide-area IoT doomed? Is uplink-dominated IoT wrong? Will the multi-service operators triumph over all others? ”

Chair: Petar Popovski

05:20 pm                 Panel Members:   Petar Popovski, Chih Lin I, Seong-Lyun Kim, TBA, TBA

06:20 pm                 Posters and cocktails

Tuesday June 13, 2017

Keynote 2

08:30 am                 Mike Honig (Northwestern University)

Session 3. Starting up with Communication Theory

Chair: Anton Monk

09:20 am                 Andrea Goldsmith

                                     Alex Grant

10:30 am                 Coffee break

11:00 am                 Mark Pinto

                                     Sriram Vishwanath­­­­­­­

12:10 pm                Lunch

Session 4. Quantum Communications

Chair:  Jack Winters

03:15 pm                 Lajos Hanzo

                                    Robert Malaney

                                    Jack Winters

05:00 pm                 Coffee break

Panel Session 2. “How relevant is Communication Theory to Spectrum Policy? – Should communication theorists be more involved in policy debates or leave this for the lawyers?”

Chair:  Randall Berry

05:20 pm                 Panel Members:  Randall Berry, Danijela Cabric, Anant Sahai, TBA, TBA

06:20 pm                 Break

07:30 pm                 Banquet

Wednesday June 14, 2017

Keynote 3

08:30 am                 Alex Gorokhov (Qualcomm)

09:20 am                 Petar Popovski

09:50 am                 Coffee break

Session 5. New Frontiers in Wireless Networking

Chair: Andrea Goldsmith

           10:20 am                Gerhard Fettweis

   Elza Erkip

11:30 am                Coffee break

11:40 am                Jeff Andrews

                                   Shuguang Cui

12:50 pm                Concluding Remarks, Close